Skip to main content


  • Jan an inspiration Eric Dier
Subscribe to newsfeed 

Jan's an inspiration - Eric

Posted on 16 May 2018  - 12:06

Jan Vertonghen collected his first One Hotspur Members’ Player of the Season award at Wembley on Sunday – with words of praise from Eric Dier ringing in his ears.

Jan Vertonghen in training this seasonJan collects the Player of the Season award from One Hotspur Member Tony Baylis

The Belgium defender, 'Super Jan', has been super-consistent this season and it was no surprise to see him take the top Club award for the first time. Jan started 36 of our 38 matches as we finished third in the Premier League and featured in 47 of 55 games in all competitions.

His performances were also recognised with a place in the PFA's Premier League Team of the Year.

It's a consistency Eric can relate to, having played 146 of our last 161 matches in all competitions.

“If you look at the standard Jan is playing at now, it's incredible,” said Eric.

“The best thing is just to watch his game. I believe he’s been the best centre-back in the Premier League this season, which is not easy.

“The consistent level he’s performed at has been incredible and he’s someone I look up to because I want to reach the level he’s playing at now.

“The whole team looks up to him in the way he carries himself and the way he plays. He’s a fantastic player and not just highly-respected in this team but throughout the league as well.

“He’s just turned 31. You can constantly improve and constantly get better and I’ve got to keep trying to do that.”

Jan joins some of the Club's modern greats in lifting the Members’ Player of the Season award including the likes of Paul Gascoigne, Gary Lineker, Jurgen Klinsmann, Teddy Sheringham, Robbie Keane, Gareth Bale and current team-mates Christian Eriksen, Toby Alderweireld and Harry Kane.


1987 - Gary Mabbutt
1988 - Chris Waddle
1989 - Erik Thorstvedt
1990 - Paul Gascoigne
1991 - Paul Allen
1992 - Gary Lineker
1993 - Darren Anderton
1994 - Jurgen Klinsmann
1995 - Teddy Sheringham
1996 - Sol Campbell
1997 - Sol Campbell
1998 - David Ginola
1999 - Stephen Carr
2000 - Stepen Carr
2001 - Neil Sullivan
2002 - Simon Davies
2003 - Robbie Keane
2004 - Jermain Defoe
2005-06 - Robbie Keane
2006-07 - Dimitar Berbatov
2007-08 - Robbie Keane
2008-09 - Aaron Lennon
2009-10 - Michael Dawson
2010-11 - Luka Modric
2011-12 - Scott Parker
2012-13 - Gareth Bale
2013-14 - Christian Eriksen
2014-15 - Harry Kane
2015-16 - Toby Alderweireld
2016-17 - Christian Eriksen
2017-18 - Jan Vertonghen